Australia’s summer of tennis will start in Perth!

23 Oct 2023
Australia’s summer of tennis will start in Perth! Image
Table showing the team draw for the 2024 United Cup PERTH Group A Poland Spain WTA TBC Group C United States Great Britain Australia Group E Czech Republic China Serbia SYDNEY Group B Greece Canada ATP TBC Group D France Italy Germany Group F Croatia Netherlands Norway

Australia’s summer of tennis will begin in Perth, with an amazing line up of countries set to compete, as was revealed today.

The Australian team will take to the court at RAC Arena, spearheaded by Alex de Minaur and Ajla Tomljanovic. Western Australian locals and doubles stars, world No.2 Storm.

Hunter and world No.6 Matt Ebden, are also set to don the green and gold alongside John Millman and Ellen Perez.

Team Poland, led by four-time major champion Iga Swiatek and 11th-ranked Hubert Hurkacz, have been named as the top seeds for the 2024 edition of United Cup, while defending champions United States, represented by world No.4 Jessica Pegula and 10th-ranked Taylor Fritz, are seeded third.

Making their debut in 2024 is Serbia, who will led by 24-time major champion and current world No.1 Novak Djokovic. He will be joined in the team by rising star Olga Danilovic.

Wimbledon champion Marketa Vondrousova will headline the Czech Republic team with Jiri Lehecka, and Great Britain’s team will include standouts Cameron Norrie and Katie Boulter.

Asian Games champions Zheng Qinwen and Zhang Zhizhen, both making a big impact on tour in 2023, will be representing China, with Alejandro Davidovich-Fokina and Sara Sorribes-Tormo playing for Spain.

United Cup, it’s Tennis Turned UP! The world’s best men and women will be playing loud and live in Perth from Dec 29 – Jan 3.

Showcasing equality at the highest level of the sport, mixed teams from 18 countries will compete across two cities – Perth and Sydney – over 10 days. Each team will comprise of a maximum of six members, three ATP players and three WTA players.

Countries are competing for national pride, USD $10million prize money and 500 ranking points.

Perth and Sydney will each host three groups comprised of three teams, competing in a round robin format. Each tie comprises of one men’s and one women’s singles, plus one mixed doubles match.

The quarterfinals will be played in the respective cities, with the winning teams advancing to the semi finals and final to be played in Sydney across January 6 – 7.

The playing schedule will be released on Tuesday October 24, with tickets on sale from 5pm AWST on Wednesday October 25th through Ticketek.

View from up high at RAC Arena looking at the tennis court and fans below with Perth city seen in the background.